Skip to content

Terrell Carter: An Intoxicating Honeywine for Jazzy-Soul Artist Rajdulari

February 24, 2012

I was first introduced to Rajdulari about a year ago by the good folks at Billie’s Black in Harlem. If you haven’t been there, you’ve missed out on the best fried catfish in the US. If you have been there, you know that it’s not just the food that brings people back to the spot. Owner Adriane Ferguson and Talent Wrangler Alison Murray have long been fans of independent artists and have loaded their small stage with some of the most impressive voices in the underground scene. Rajdulari is one of them. When I went to her show, I said, “I don’t know this girl. Who is she?” I mean, I am pretty connected to the independent music scene in NYC, so it stands to reason that I would know her, or at least have heard her name. But I hadn’t. And that, my friends, led to a very pleasant surprise.

Every seat, every space, every bit of oxygen in the space was filled when Rajdulai took the stage. This was her album release party and her people came out to support. I was impressed. When she opened her mouth and I was more impressed. Her sound is a blend of jazz and soul, with a little funk thrown into the equation. A couple of hours later, I left with a new CD – it’s called Honeywine –  in hand and an appreciation for an artist I had never known.

Fast forward to February 2012. Rajdulari has released a video for the title track of her album and it’s getting madd hits on Youtube. I click the link. I see why. Besides the fact that she obviously has a strong following, Rajdulari also knows how to make a video. Starring the stunningly sexy Terrell Carter, the clip plays into the lyrics of the song: when he touches her, it’s intoxicating. The footage is stunning, the lights, the sets, everything. So here’s what you do: watch the video. Enjoy the visuals, enjoy the vocals. Then hit this link and cop the actual album. This isn’t even the best song from the collection.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

