Skip to content

Jaiden’s Yummy Melody

January 20, 2012

If you have been on the sofa with me for a while, you know I am a fan of JaidenThe Cure.” The very first time I heard him sing, at The DEN in Harlem, I was like… who is the guy and why haven’t I heard of him before? A quick Google search and I found out why I didn’t know him – he had been busy singing background vocals for some of the biggest names in the industry. But that voice, smooth as a baby’s ass, draws you in and makes you want to hear more. Couple that with the fact that Jaiden writes most of his own material and you have the makings of a star waiting to happen. With this week’s release of the video for “Melody,” his catchy-as-hell love song with songstress Yummy Bingham, he gets one step closer.

The video features two lovers, working their way through New York City as they make their way to each other. Along the way, Jaiden runs into other up and coming singer/songwriters Sean Fair and Charles Perry and Yummy shares a hug with that diva KimberlyNichole. I love the support their peers are showing them by being in the video and the reciprocal support they are showing by asking them to be in the video in the first place. It’s a small, tight-knit community; things like that just make sense. In any event, the video is charming and the song, stuck in my head.

As I was listening to the song, I immediately hit Jaiden up on twitter to see if he writes all of his own stuff. I assumed the answer was yes and of course he did write “Melody.”  My response to that is that Ne-Yo needs to satdown; Jaiden’s got this. Honestly, he’s telling a story – a good one at that – and I wanted to hear what happened next. And let’s be honest: a good song stems from good lyrics. And “Melody,” my friends, has good lyrics. Enjoy the video below, and if you don’t have Shades of Grey: The Cure Suite II, Jaiden’s free mixtape from which this song comes, then go download it. I said it was free.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

