Skip to content

First Look: Veep, Girls (HBO)

December 21, 2011

As someone who hated Seinfeld, I was really apprehensive about watching Julia-Louis Dreyfus in The New Adventures of Old Christine (I completely skipped over the mess that was Ellie). But, after a couple of episodes, I was hooked. So much so that Christine became one of my go-to shows and I pushed hard to get people to watch it – and for CBS to stop fidgeting and give it a solid placement on its schedule. Neither happened and unfortunately the show was cancelled with little fanfare. And so I have been missing Christine – I mean, Julia – for a minute now. Luckily she’s back in the new HBO comedy Veep (April 2012). This preview really gives us nothing… but excitement for what’s to come…

Also debuting this April on HBO is Judd Apatow‘s Girls. Written by and starring Lena Dunham (Tiny Furniture), HBO describes the show as “a comic look at the assorted humiliations and rare triumphs of a group of girls in their early 20s.” I don’t know Dunham, but in this 47-second clip she reminds me of one of my favorite actresses, Merritt Weaver (who coincidentally was her co-star in Furniture). It looks good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

