Skip to content

Terra Nova: I’m Rooting For the Dinosaurs

November 29, 2011

Last night’s episode sealed my opinion. Terra Nova is a turkey. A real turkey. Coming into the season, it was one of my most-anticipated shows and, after ten hours of television, it has disappointed me so much that I am debating whether I should continue through the December 19 season (series?) finale or let go.

Here’s the basic break-down: in 2149, Earth is in trouble, with polluted air and over-population. Someone discovers a rip in time and they start sending people back 85 million years into the past. The Shannon family are our protagonists, with Jim (a cop), Elisabeth (a doctor) and their three kids: Josh (mad for no reason at all), Maddie (brilliant for no reason at all) and Zoe (absolutely adorable; she gets a pass). The leader of the new community, dubbed Terra Nova, is Commander Taylor, who was the first person to pass through the portal. His foil is Mira, the leader of the Sixers, so named as they all came in on the sixth pilgrimage. The Sixers have abandoned Terra Nova and are fighting Taylor tooth and nail. Why? We don’t really know. What role do the Shannons play in the game? None as far as I can see. Who are we supposed to be rooting for? I’ve decided to root for the dinosaurs.

The big issues: everyone who does anything wrong does so because someone they love is in trouble – the little girl who was a spy so her brother would be safe; Mira, who’s leading the Sixers so she can get back to her daughter; Skye, who has been revealed as a new spy who is helping the Sixers who have her sick mother; the son (I typed his name in the last paragraph but have already forgotten it) steals medicine from Terra Nova for the Sixers so he can get his girlfriend on the next pilgrimage. I give up. No one takes responsibility for anything? And, are they serious with these Sesame Street storylines? I’m not a sci-fi geek, but give me strength. They have a story about Zoe and her pet dinosaur? Every bit of drama that happens can be wrapped up in sixty minutes (including commercials) every week? The more I think about it, the less interested I am. ACT LIKE GROWN UPS!!

Is anyone else watching this show? Liking it? Is it just me?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 10:38 PM

    LMAO!!!!!! IT IS NO LOST!!!!! I completely see your point.

    So anyway they are a bit slow on story and character development, and there are no cliff hangers from week to week. The show is a dinosaur adventure each week.Us sci-fi fans are loving it. I think you should give it 2 more hours, we may get into the quasi “save the environment” politics of the show.

    They need to inject some drama in between the dinosaur fights. everyone seems to be all too perfect especially the family(protagonists).

    I hope you’re wrong about the possibility that this is the series finale.

  2. November 29, 2011 10:45 PM

    Lady Z, now you know I love you… but… you’re too smart for this show!!! I kept WANTING it to be better, but last night’s “let’s sneak the dinosaur out of the lab” storyline was TOO immature for real sci-fi fans. I know you were like WTF??? LMAO

    • November 29, 2011 11:14 PM

      They keep trying to force this perfect family down our throats!! I don’t hold those scenes against them though. LOL

  3. The Katalist permalink
    November 30, 2011 9:13 AM

    So I started watching when the kid came visiting from college and I liked it…a little. But I agree with most of your points. The girl is watching at school and insists I keep it up. I dont have the heart to tell her I’m not compelled! I will catch up OnDemand when there is absolutely nothing on AND I am bedridden (for no apparent reason).

Leave a Reply

