Skip to content

Mirren’s Debt Exposed

August 29, 2011

A funny thing happened while on hurricane watch this weekend: I saw commercials for this Helen Mirren film that comes out on Wednesday (August 31) that I had never heard of before. Not that a Helen Mirren film gets the press of a say, Will Smith, but Mirren is an Oscar-winning actress who deftly moves between small art house creations and big budget thrillers. She is certainly on the radar. And, with me being a small film aficionado, she clearly is on my radar. But somehow news of The Debt has passed me by. Now that I know about it, though, I want to make sure that you do as well.

Co-starring Sam Worthington (Avatar), Jessica Chastain (The Help) and Academy Award nominee Tom Wilkinson (In the Bedroom), the espionage thriller takes place in both 1997 and 1966, recounting the story of three Americans sent on a mission to track down a Nazi war criminal. The trailer looks absolutely amazing. I will be there, no questions asked. What about you?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

