Skip to content

A Taste of Gloria Ry’ann

August 24, 2010

She’s shared a stage with Rihanna, Jennifer Hudson, Ashford & Simpson, Leela James, Teddy Pendergrass and Mama Patti. She’s been compared to Minnie Ripperton so many times even Minnie’s husband, Richard Rudolph, has extended an invitation to work with her. She’s working with veteran producer Herb Middleton (My Life, Mary J. Blige; Faith, Faith Evans) on her upcoming debut project. She’s got a personality and face to match that beautiful voice. She is… Gloria Ry’ann.

Oops. I think I dropped a couple of names just now. Hell, if I had a list like that, I’d be walking around with holes in my pockets, letting names slide out wherever I went.

Now, I met Gloria a hundred and fifty years ago, as we were both throwin’ one back at Billie’s Black. She gave me a sampler CD and I immediately loved her voice. But then I didn’t hear anything from her for a while. Then, there she was, back on the scene. WIth… yeah… something of a gangsta lean. That’s Gloria: a bad-ass chick with a bad-ass voice. I love her.

Below is a video of her damn-near perfect delivery of Ripperton’s “Inside My Love.” And when you get done wiping the tears away and calming down those goosebumps, click play on the sampler I have embedded at the bottom. It is a collection of snippets from Ry’ann’s forthcoming CD of original work. When you get done, retweet this so your friends who aren’t in the know, get in the know. Or add it to your facebook page. I’m serious.

 

Inside My Love

 

Gloria Ry’ann – A Taste


Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 3:34 PM

    Yep yep yep and alla that yep…Gloria Ry’ann is the TRUTH!

  2. September 14, 2010 11:22 AM

    WOW. Loving this. I’ll be on the look out for Gloria Ry’ann.

  3. September 17, 2010 6:21 PM

    Glow is amazing, I mean Gloria Ry’ann. OMG is my fav! I can’t get enough of that song. And my opinion is not biased!

Leave a Reply

