Skip to content

Angela Johnson, Dancehall Queen

July 28, 2010

love the hat; love the vest; love the look.

Angela Johnson has impressed me again.

Fresh off a trip to entertain music lovers of Japan, Angela looked positively radiant as she bounced onto the stage at the Blue Note for her album release party. Typical me: I had been sitting for a grand total of 4 seconds when they introduced her. My perfect timing withstanding, the show was not what I was expecting. As a long-time Angela Johnson fan, I have listened through up-tempo, mid-tempo and ballad. I have never, however, witnessed such a dance-a-thon. Angela was going in… The same layered, textured voice of hers, amazing music and beautiful lyrics that we have come to expect from the multi-hyphenate, but this time the entire show made you want to dance.

“I’m at a point in my life that this is what I want to do,” Angela explained from the stage. More dancing ensued. She invited Darien, who’s collaborated with her on one of the lead singles from It’s Personal, the new CD. The crowd cheered. They’re a good team, these two. But, if Johnson’s last disc, A Woman’s Touch, taught us anything, it is that she can meld her voice with pretty much anyone.

As the show wound down, we got a Reggae-infused version of one of my personal favorite Angela Johnson songs, “All I Need.” And then she closed out the show with a cover of Marvin Gaye‘s “Got To Give It Up” (again, one of my all-time favorite songs) that deftly segued into “Shake Your Body” by the Jacksons.

A true party, indeed.

PS – It’s Personal is worth whatever amount whichever vendor you go to is selling it for. I have had it in heavy rotation on my iPod since Monday night. A thanks to George and Russell at Purpose Records for continuing to provide a home for talented artists.


(thanks to kandiharper; this is her video from Youtube.)


Bookmark and Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alliecat permalink
    July 28, 2010 8:04 PM

    Great show, indeed. Loved it when she broke into the Jacksons’ patented move they did with Shake your body!! Classic!

Leave a Reply

