Skip to content

LOST, I Loved It

May 24, 2010
tags:

People’s reactions are mixed. Critics want to say they liked it, but aren’t sure if they did. Ratings were up, but not as high as expected. There were a lot of commercials. … and they’re… dead? Didn’t we decide that wasn’t the case way back in season 2? Last night LOST closed out the series and today, the debate is on: was it great or was it lame?

I read the reviews, saw the posts, stumbled through my own emotions and realized: I don’t care. I mean, I do care about my beloved Hurley and Kate and Jack and Sawyer and (bless their time-traveling castaway hearts – Rose and Bernard) and the rest of the cast. But, I don’t care if you liked it or not. I don’t care if they got the ratings ABC expected or not. Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse made the show they wanted to make. The cast was happy; or at least they did their job and pretended like they were. I was happy. And, truth be told, that’s enough. Who cares is Ida in Tallahassee is mad because we didn’t see Walt or find out why he was so important (I think we already know that anyway)? And that can be said for so many of the complaints I have heard/read. Just fill in the blanks and use the same sentence. If you really think about it, I bet you can come up with answers to most – I know, not all, but most – of the glaring questions.

When you hear the producers talk about LOST, they are always very clear that this show is about the characters; not about mysteries. Granted, they used those mysteries to tell the stories of these characters, so it’s ridiculous to not feel like there should be an explanation for most of the quandaries, but at the end of the day, this was much deeper than a mystery show. And people knew that. I got what I needed to from the finale. And what I didn’t, I will make up the answer. Isn’t that how the Island’s rules go?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

