Skip to content

Julia Sherry Designs: Purses Perfect for Summer

April 21, 2010

"Gloria"

Now, I will admit that I don’t know shit about purses. They range in size from teeny-tiny to big enough to fit a small child in; some look fancy, others more casual. That’s about it. BUT… I do know Sherry Houston. And I do know that she makes purses that are pretty. I have seen said purses and they look well-made. Again, I’m not an expert, but again, I would never endorse something if I felt I shouldn’t. I feel like I should share Julia Sherry Designs (named after her mother) with you.

"Linda"

I met Sherry Houston in Atlanta, when she was the Assistant Manager at a Lindt Chocolate store and I was in the same role at Williams-Sonoma. Two creative beings stuck in retail when we should be doing our own thing, we bonded immediately. Eventually, she took over my job when I moved to NYC. Then, three years later on a night of true bar-hopping (my friend Jack and I hit 9 bars in Harlem), I literally ran into her at Melba’s, where the sangria as pouring freely and the music sucked. I believe I loaned them my iPod while we were there, but I have to admit my memory is a bit hazy. Nonetheless, Sherry and I reconnected in NYC and she told me that her purse line had expanded. She has both a Facebook group page and an Etsy store. Go check them out. Again, I don’t know shit about purses. But I do know pretty. And these fit the bill.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristian permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:42 PM

    I love the name of Ms. Houston’s label, for it is named after my grandmother/ her mother :). Auntie Sherry your purses are beautiful and extremely stylish. She puts so much time and detail into making her bags, for they are handmade. The handbags are Beautiful, impeccably made, and a great size for a night out on the town.

    Congrats on the purse line, they are a must have.

  2. Emily permalink
    May 16, 2010 1:10 PM

    So cute! Thanks for sharing JRL!

  3. Dee permalink
    August 6, 2010 6:06 PM

    Those are cute. Nine bars in Harlem??? Counting my fingers now. LOL

Trackbacks

  1. joe’s favorite things: Julia Sherry Clutches « josephrileyland's 20questions

Leave a Reply

