Skip to content

ABG-2.2: What Would 90′s Nia Long Do?

July 13, 2012

Issa Rae

Another month, another new episode of my favorite web series, The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl. And it’s another home run. As always, I have the episode and then below that some commentary. You watch, then we’ll discuss.

First, I thought that was Jasmine Guy at the end, playing J’s mom. I could have sworn it was a grown up version of Whitley Gilbert standing there. Turns out it’s actually Broadway diva Helena-Joyce Wright  (All The Parts I Ever Wanted To Sing But Couldn’t ‘Cause I ‘Wuz’ Black), who’s known [creator/writer/producer/star] Issa Rae for a few years, back when Rae was working in New York and helped HJW figure out Facebook. With the introduction of the mother, I’m definitely intrigued as to what will happen in the next episode.

@IssaRae: Before this episode airs in three minutes, I would like to say that I’m really putting myself out there in this one … #ABG.

And put herself out here, she did. Just after the episode aired, I caught up with Rae to discuss that tweet. “I definitely was self-conscious about the ending scenes, but I think all this sex stuff adds to the awkwardness and discomfort.” And she’s right. So is the timing. Just like J and White Jay’s relationship, it’s time for ABG’s audience to get intimate with Rae. Seeing her in the bathroom mirror, getting ready for her Sexcapade with White Jay was priceless (especially “Boobies, boobies, boobies, boobies,”): the bra, the pep talk, the trips to the bottle of vodka…

Some of my favorite quotes from the night. Feel free to share yours.

“Hey, are you hot in here? Cause I checked the temperature and it’s… 69 degrees.” – J

Hey are you hungry… for this poonanny? – J

“I’m Beyoncé. … … (aside) Beyoncé wouldn’t do that.” – J

“That’s when I was Deloris, muthafucka.” – Sister Mary

“Well, me, myself, personally, I say, ‘If the chemistry is right, you ain’t gotta keep it tight. Day one, week one tops.’” – Germy Patty

“Boobies, boobies, boobies, boobies…” – J

“What do white people listen to when they have sex? Taylor Swift? Michael Bolton? Eminem.” – J

Editor’s note – In the original draft, I incorrectly named Ms. Wright as Helena Joyce-Wright instead of Helena-Joyce Wright. Apologies on my part for that mistake. – joseph riley land

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wipp permalink
    July 20, 2012 1:48 PM

    Great piece! We help with the marketing end of Ms. Wright’s, Works In Progress Productions, LLC (WippWorks on fb). Could you please add us to your list of tags, and is possible to retag Helena-Joyce? We did not receive this piece and would love to disseminate. Thanks so much. We look forward to future posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,315 other followers

