Skip to content

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl

July 11, 2011

I have a confession to make. I am in love… with an awkward black girl.

Let’s rewind a few days. I stopped by Billie’s Black on Friday night and Zareena Xavier, the best mixologist in Harlem – and coincidentally the first subscriber to the kitchensofa blog, was in the place. She mentioned a webisode series that she finds hilarious, so I asked her to email me the link.

As soon as the initial episode ended, I was immediately clicking play on episode two. I ended up doing a mini marathon and watching the entire series to date Saturday afternoon. The next thing I know, I’m sharing it on twitter and Facebook and having my friend Nakia watch it with me when she came over to make peach cobbler on Sunday. And now, I am sharing it with you. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you: The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl.

You have eyes and ears, so you will be able to see/hear/experience the funny yourself, but the way Issa Rae (the awkward black girl) uses her mind is very impressive. The writing is sharp and witty, the acting honest. And… i adore her facial expressions. This is a warning to all other up and coming actors: get it together.

I have no clue what Rae’s plans are but I vote that ABC pick it up as a series. Hell, if William Shatner can get a season-long paycheck for Shit My Dad Says,which came from a Twitter feed, then The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl should be able to get a series pick up. I’m dead serious. Issa, whatever you need me to do to help make it happen, let me know.

So, here’s the first episode. Apparently the series has been going since February 2011 (the first episode is over 100,00 hits, by the way) and they upload a new one sometime during the first week of every month. If you want to see the whole series now, check out the site.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 1:21 AM

    Very glad you’re sharing this with your following.did you send her a link to your post.

    • July 12, 2011 1:26 AM

      lol. yep. she’s following me on twitter now. LOL…
      Zareena… i CRACKED the FUCK up!!! that shit is HILARIOUS!!

  2. July 27, 2011 7:28 PM

    THIS IS TOO FUNNY! I never knew I was an AWKWARD Black Girl, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Awkward Black Girl Goes on a Date « kitchensofa [the blog]
  2. First Look: New Girl, Fox « kitchensofa [the blog]
  3. Awkward Black Girl & the 90s R&B Video « kitchensofa [the blog]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,313 other followers

