Skip to content

Emmy Ups and Downs

July 9, 2010

What in the hell?

Those Emmys… every year there’s a lot of What were they thinking? moments and this year’s crop of nominees is no exception. If you didn’t read my list of who should be nominated, you should. It’s better than there’s. Honestly, when industry analysts (yeah, I’m claiming to be one of those.) make our lists of who should be nominated, we give reasons. Like in high school when you had to present supporting evidence for whatever topic your term paper was covering. When I said that John Noble from Fringe should be nominated as Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, I provided reasoning:

John Noble, Fringe – Noble’s strong performance as Walter and his “over there” version, the Walternate, has captured the attention of critics everywhere. Giving us bumbling professor/scientist who had pieces of his brain removed in one scene and then vengeful leader of a police state in the next. He went from great to brilliant this season.

The National Academy of Arts and Sciences just sent Sophia Vergara and Joel McHale out on a stage and had them read a list from a teleprompter. Bullshit.

Okay, so what made me happy?

- Although I have issues with a lot of their decisions, I am excited that so much love has been spread to the new kids on the block. Glee, Modern Family (which I hate, but understand that everyone else loves), The Good Wife… they all received multiple nominations.

Panjabi

- I was rooting for Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife) to get a nomination, but really expected Christine Baranski to get the lone supporting nomination. They both got one. That’s not such a bad thing.

- I have never seen the show, but have witnessed the absolute love fans (and critics) have for Friday Night Lights. Clearly, it is a well-made show. Kudos for nominations for both leads, Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton.

- Julia Louis-Dreyfus‘ nomination is a nice slap in the face to those sons of whores at CBS and ABC who played fast and loose with my favorite sitcom before letting it fade away.

LOST's Jorge Garcia, Josh Holloway & Evangeline Lilly

- LOST still got significant love. I could feasibly have given each cast member a trophy, but I am happy with what they got.

 

 

 

 

 

And the stuff that makes no sense:

Wilson and Oh

- First and foremost, Katherine Heigl has an Emmy for her work on Grey’s Anatomy but neither Sandra Oh nor Chandra Wilson do. After nine nominations between them. And this year, neither were nominated, despite Wilson’s superior work in the season finale. When I say that both of these actresses should be getting Oscar-worthy film roles, I am dead-on.

- No love for Treme? I realize that awards have evaded previous quality shows from the same team (The Corner, The Wire), but come on. Did you watch Khandi Alexander this season? Or John Goodman‘s descent into suicidal depression? A tragedy.

 

King

- Regina King… poor Regina King. Throw her a bone. Shit.

- Fringe. John Noble is phenomenal and the show itself is the smartest thing on TV. Will they ever learn?

- Courtney Cox. Someone hates her. Why?

- Ugly Betty was cut before it’s time. They couldn’t get a consolation prize in the form of a nomination for Vanessa Williams or Michael Urie? Just stupid.

That’s all I have to say for now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marissa permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:06 PM

    I think Sandra Oh is bit over rated myself. She is an excellent actress – but I think she has limitations. She is possibly the worst “cry-er” in the history of TV and every time she has to do a truly emotional scene that involves tears I cringe a little. Chandra Wilson is wonderful as Bailey and I think both women have deserved Emmys at some point in the last 6 years – but certainly not for Season 6 which was pretty poor apart from the final episode. I also think it is wrong to suggest that just because former co-star Heigl has an Emmy this is somehow wrong. Heigl also put in some incredible performances during her tenure and was certainly stronger than both in several seasons – and didnt always get a nomination. To suggest her achievement is wrong because the other ladies have not got an award does a disservice to all three ladies.

    • July 9, 2010 5:33 PM

      Marissa, I appreciate opinions different than mine. Unfortunately, I still disagree. I have never been a fan of Heigl’s work (which, for the record, has nothing to do with her off-screen actions). In fact, I found Izzie to be the 2nd most-annoying character on the show (after George – God, he annoyed the living shit out of me). That being said, I completely disagree that Heigl was stronger than Wilson ever has been. That being said, I do agree that previous years have been kinder to both Oh and Wilson, but even in a weak year, they are consummate professionals and act circles around most people. And as far as Oh is concerned… I still think she’s an amazing actress. I have never seen her in anything that I didn’t love. Her Christina Yang is one of my favorite characters on TV. Again, though, I do appreciate your opinion.
      jrl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,327 other followers

